Possibly the best free Windows Firewall?

I have bumped into the Comodo Firewall that seems to be getting rave reviews these days – including becoming PC Magazine’s “Editors Choice”. I have been running this for two months now on a very low spec PC (a lot of other free firewalls seem to eat CPU) and am very pleased. The Comodo Firewall is free for personal use.

However, be warned, the Comodo Firewall always checks if it is up to date and running the latest version. This is very good – because normally it would mean that you can install and forget. Unfortunately, I was running version 2.3 and allowed it to update itself to 2.4. While my system stayed stable, I did notice that CPU usage increased and the PC became a little sluggish. I see others reporting similar on the Comodo Forums. So, I reverted to version 2.3 and it’s going like a dream.

Unfortunately, you can’t download version 2.3 from the Comodo site – and most download sites now only offer the 2.4 version. However, I have found the 2.3 version still available to download from the Freedownload Centre. I throroughly recommend it.

One thought on “Possibly the best free Windows Firewall?”

  1. I’ll right away snatch your rss feed as I can’t in finding your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me know so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

